Why I would like to meet Stephen Fry

Why I would like to meet Stephen Fry?

For a start I think that he is very bright and arguably the Oscar Wilde of our times. He succeeds in expressing himself in English whatever the medium and knows a lot of stuff and I suspect/hope that he takes the trouble to find out about a subject before he utters forth.

He is very funny without the need to put others down or patronise to make a point. Probably capable of acerbic wit but does not need to display his erudition for all to admire. Mr Fry’s use of the language is humbling: I have yet to hear him use a word incorrectly although he isn’t shy to coin a newism if that is what is needed to make the point. My personal favourite is “earworm” lifted from the German “Ohrwurm” which is far more communicative than any previously existing English circumlocution.

I would like to meet him to confirm to myself that he really is as nice as his TV/radio personae suggest. I suspect that he is a friend in deed to those to whom he is close.

I share his interest in new technology; writing as a retired technologist, I assert that, with money no object, a predilection for Apple products is simple common sense. A computer is after all just a device for communication and part of the Steve Jobs legacy is the provision of global products that facilitate the process.

Hagiography aside, Mr Fry is a hero in the mental health business. I have watched “The Secret Life of the Manic Depressive” many times and thank him for his role helping to explode some of the myths around the subject of mental illness and its consequences for the sufferer and those around him or her. Successful and prosperous people do not need to reveal so much of themselves for personal gain. Maybe they achieve some sort of cathartic release but that does not matter. Far more significant is the fact that he articulates the condition to a broad audience and thus helps the cause of greater general awareness and understanding of all metal health illness.

Before he came out as a manic depressive (the term I prefer because it is more descriptive in everyday English then the term bipolar with its qualifying numbers which are doubtless helpful to the trade that must be seen to be scientific), Stephen Fry wrote some for me life-changing words about depression. I read them on the Samaritans website in 2001 and at last helped me begin to understand what had been wrong with me for so long. I would like to meet the man behind the words essentially to say thank you for his courage with the self-exposure that has brought succour to very many.
The principal reason for wanting to meet Stephen Fry is that I would love to meet someone with whom I could converse, with someone who does not think in one straight line. He is one of life’s raconteurs but he also knows hot to listen to people: Stephen Fry in America showed an expert listener in action where he met and conversed with many different people.

About warriet

little known
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I would like to meet Stephen Fry

  1. John Blackburn. says:

    Spike Milligan did the same (talk openly) about schizophreniform episodes. He was persuaded to re-enact his own illness. If you haven’t seen the programme, and get a chance, its highly recommended.

  2. kazzisaphotographer says:

    Mr Fry is most certainly the best advocate the ‘sector’ could possibly ask for. Intelligent, witty, eloquent, respected in so many different fields, and captivating to the majority of our population (and even over the pond).
    It does sadden me that it takes an immensely famous person to get everyone’s attention, and that he had to bare his soul and deeply expose his personal side, in order to be heard. But I am so glad he did, while retaining his dignity.
    Well-written piece David, hoorah.

    • warriet says:

      Thank you Kazz 🙂 This piece was written in response to a request from http://www.time-to-change.org.uk/ – I thought it might be wise to assert my intellectual copyright to the words. Since them I have been wondering about time to change which has diverted some £20 million from Comic Relief and the Department of Health. Diverted ££££ from where money is needed and spent it on lavish presentations on a non-issue.

Leave a Reply

