just another day

’tis all very well  documenting the past here but perhaps the point of blogging is to keep a journal of life as it happens while I still remember. Yesterday was my busiest day in years. Started off in Chavbridge where I attended and joined the monthly steering group of WASP which is run by addicts for addicts and provides real world services for troubled souls in Wiltshire, A good meeting and I am proud to be part of an organisation which is more than just a talking-shop – it provides real help for those suffering in the county. Interesting to note that as the work to create a unitary of local government proceeds in Wiltshire, was interesting to note that WASP is attracting the support and funding as other groups fade away. I felt welcomed despite the fact that it is probably a year and a half since I saw anyone there. Despite the chairman’s doubts, it was a well run meeting with decisions being made collectively by a disparate group of recovering addicts. I had met all before except one to whom I sent a Facebook friend invitation covertly during the course of the meeting. Is this the 21st century equivalent of passing a note in class while teacher’s attention is distracted? (she accepted later on yesterday evening, what to do next…)

In the course of the meeting I  became the WASP rep for a seminar in Chippenham organised by the AWP for its service users,their carers and practitioners. I was 10 minutes late but that was not a problem since the actual start time was 14:00. The journey there was noteworthy in that it was Cadbury’s  first test in the real world. The twatnav earned its keep by taking me as close as I could legally park to the Town Hall.

to keep things in perspective, just read about the dying and death of one of my daughter’s  school friends http://cupcakescurlsandchemo.blogspot.com/

Today, Friday is already another day and still have not summarised Wednesday. Hohum, what did I do, think, feel yesterday. Sad that I had to look at my diary to remind me. Very agreeable  few hours in the Blackswan where Diana and I agreed on how to process the entries for the Open Competition 2010 we have agreed an an mo which is greatly refined since 2008 which reduces the bureaucracy to its essential minimum. Good al round I really did not mind being the only male person around.. Been so long: the Thrupp incident was a major trauma but I decided that it’s about time I had a girlfriend again and for once in my life perhaps the first time, I know what I want a companion, someone to share the highs and lows with. Shoewed a freind the few photographs I have left of P, friend commented “she’s going to be a hard act to follow” Too right! One of the pieces of advice offered by the rehab business is to wait a year then get a plant, if that last a year get a dog, if that has not run away after another year, then and only then consider thinking about the possibility of some kind of relationship. Part of the 12 Step methodology is the taking of an inventory of self thus bringing one’s character defects to the attention of one other person. Which is all well and good but what about the good bits? Time to change, and have some fun and happy times. Faint heart etc, so I have sent a lunch invitation that is within my means, lunch at Chantek. OK it’s 160 miles away butSpring comes early to Cornwall, the roads will be free of the emmett influx that traditionally starts at Easter. Yes, I am in a sense castling a road movie (there are precedents her and abroad – references available and I am a licensed hackney driver). As Dr R sagely observed yesterday, these things happen when they are meant to. Time to get my head around an interview at the Jobcentre about going back to work, Fortunately I have the support of the CMHT who do not want me to do anything too hasty… Time for twatcheck and off I go in search of a free parking space….

About warriet

little known
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to just another day

  1. John Blackburn says:

    Remember a similar experience with Leeds volorgs in the 80’s. The ones that TALKED were not invariably the same as the ones that DID.

  2. warriet says:

    yes the encouraging thing about WASP is that it is run by addicts (the definition is broad enough to include all substance abuse, whether it’s street drugs, prescription drugs or alcohol for addicts including those still in active addiction, spades are definitely spades, smackheads are smackheads and so on, The police and paramedics have access to people licensed to carry and administer naloxone – sometimes it’s the dealers or fellow users who dial 999. A uniform is of course anathema but they will accept emergency help from a former addict (former addicts are naturally as good as any highly trained medic with syringes – they have had lots of practice and they are still alive!). All very real world stuff with backing from real world frontline people and their bosses. If you were in the area I’d invite you to join. It works because it works, even the county hall bean counters can see that the money is well spent which I guess must be the holy grail of public opening demonstrable benefits to the whole community with a net reduction in the demand on the public purse: think it’s called a win/win.

    • warriet says:

      lifted from another’s site’s blog, 12 principles for recovery:
      1. Honesty, self-awareness and openness lie at the heart of healthy recovery movements.
      2. There are many routes to recovery and no individual or organisation has the right to claim ownership of the ‘right pathway.’
      3. Recovery embraces harm reduction and abstinence based approaches and does not seek to be prescriptive.
      4. Recovery involves the personal, cultural and structural recognition of the need for participative change and transformation.
      5. Recovery involves a continual process of change and self-redefinition for individuals, communities and organisations.
      6. Anti-oppressive approaches lie at the heart of Recovery and it proactively challenges all discrimination, transcending shame and stigma.
      7. Recovery lies within individuals and communities and is self directed and empowering.
      8. Recovery emerges from hope, gratitude and service to others.
      9. Recovery is supported by peers and allies within communities.
      10. Recovery exists on a continuum of improved health and well-being.
      11. Recovery is holistic and has many cultural dimensions.
      12. Recovery is a reality.

      • John Blackburn says:

        Excellent! Sound! Has anyone noticed that these tenets bear a striking resemblance to the basics of Stoic philosophy?

      • warriet says:

        please post a source reference, apparently there is no clear definition of what recovery means and is often fudged with treatment

  3. warriet says:

    so I went as the WASP rep to the
    AWP meeting where I discovered a whole new reality – with recent and current knowledge/experience of the two neighbouring trusts, I realised how fortunate I was to not be mad in Wiltshire, that some of the practices in Wiltshire could have come from “One Flew Over.. so a bit of work to be do there too, at least they paid me 40p a mile and parking. Had it been a smaller seminar, I would have had the chance to explain the the difference between qualitative and quantitative research by quoting a certain Dr Edwards, one of the country’s authorities in qualitative research methodologies who texted me the Pliny quote which really does summarise it all very neatly viz “mankind’s greatest error is mistaking measurement for understanding”. Still I expect my day will come, I am surprisingly good at public speaking. Mindful of the CMHT’s concern about hypomania, I will run my activities past the psych, the social worker and the support worker when when I see them separately next. They are keeping the DWP of my back week, my aim is to not go back to work until 2011. Supply because of my age, there is a budget of 1,500 available for retraining – might as well have that if I can get it

  4. John Blackburn says:

    Enough, but not too much. Agree with Dr Edwards: in ethology -my interest – quality does challenge quantity. See N. Tinbergen ‘The Herring Gull’s World’.

Leave a Reply

